31 October, 2005

Surface Tension

Surface Tension:
Twenty One Australian Contemporary Printmakers

The New York Society of Etchers, Inc., in conjunction with Gallery 101, of Melbourne Australia, presented “Contemporary Australian & New Yorker Prints” at the National Arts Club in New York City. Curator Cynthia Reeves of Reeves Contemporary Gallery, Chelsea selected the 34 New York printmakers who are from diverse locations in and around New York State. The prints presented have been selected by juried entry on behalf of the New York Society of Etchers inc. (NYSE).

Australian co - curators of the show are Dianna Gold and Dr. Carmel Wallace. The prints selected offer a wonderful glimpse into printmaking practice Australia-wide, from artists working in major cities such as Melbourne and Sydney, to those in very remote outback localities like the Western Desert. There are six indigenous printmakers represented alongside artists working in major rural / regional and city areas. The resulting body of work is a survey not only of intaglio printmaking in technical terms, but also of the ways in which Australian artists explore notions of identity as they respond to particular environments and cultural influences.

The show has been well received and has had recognition in major international publications including, Asian Art News, The International Print Journal, Poster and Monument Magazine. Imprint Magazine – published in Australia will also feature an article about the combined exhibition in their Summer 2004 Edition, Volume 39, Number 4.

There is a comprehensive catalogue and poster for the Australian component of the exhibition together with a catalogue produced by the NYSE.

The Australian component of the exhibition: Surface Tension Twenty One Contemporary Australian Printmakers will be shown at the Academy Gallery of The University of Tasmania from 11 February – 13 March 2005.

Surface Tension exhibition opening crowd
Academy Gallery, 2005

Australian participating artists are:
G.W. Bott (ACT), Graham Fransella (VIC), Mignonette Jamin (WA), Paddy Sims Japaljarri (NT), Michael Kempson (NSW), Barbie Kjar (TAS), Hertha Kluge-Pott (VIC), Ron McBurnie (QLD), Jennifer Marshall (VIC), Milan Milojevic (TAS), Daniel Moynihan (VIC), Peter Nabarlambarl (NT), Rosie Tasman Napurrula (NT), Graeme Peebles (VIC), Ron Quick (VIC), Vicki Reynolds (VIC), Geoff Ricardo (VIC), Melissa Smith (TAS), Freddie Timms (WA), Carmel Wallace (VIC), Freda Warlipini (NT-Melville Island)


No comments: