02 April, 2008

WIlson HTM National Art Prize


The inaugural $12 000 WIlson HTM National Art Prize Finalist Exhibition shines the spotlight on new developments in contemporary Australian art. The Finalist exhibition will open at Jan Manton Art, Brisbane from 6:30pm – 8:30pm on Tuesday 8 April 2008.
With it’s strong focus on the exiting new developments in Australian art, the Wilson HTM Art Prize is unique in that it is the only emerging Australian art prize to tour three capital cities - Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

Created by cultural development organisation Artworkers Alliance in conjunction with Wilson HTM Investment Group, the award exhibition showcases the diverse creative artworks of twelve highly talented emerging artists.

Featuring a cross-section of visual art including digital animation, painting, photography, sculpture, and new media art, finalists of the prize include: Peter Alwast (QLD), Bianca Beetson (QLD), Chris Bennie (QLD), Alan Hill (Qld), Alex Kershaw (NSW), Mat de Moiser (VIC), Izabela Pluta (NSW), Matthew Sleeth (VIC), Sam Smith (NSW), Kensuke Todo (ACT), Fiona White (NSW) and Judith Wright (NSW).

The winner of the overall $10 000 award Sam Smith was announced at the launch event at Sophie Gannon Gallery, Melbourne on Wednesday 12 February 2008. His winning entry ‘Street Shift’ is an imaginative video work with science fiction undertones. Winning $1000 Kensuke Todo was awarded the Highly Commended award for his sculptural work JR Osaka Station.

Date: 6:30 – 8:30pm Tuesday 8 April 2008

Where: Jan Manton Art, 59 Melbourne Street, South Brisbane.

Cost: FREE EVENT (beverages and catering provided)

Exhibition ends: Friday 25 April 2008.

Click here to download the 2008 Finalist Exhibition catalogue.

No comments: