29 August, 2009

White Rabbit - Sydney

The White Rabbit Gallery is a new gallery space in Sydney's Chippendale, displaying contemporary art from China. The collection of more than 450 post-2000 works by contemporary Chinese artists has been accumulated over 10 years by Judith Neilson, the wife of the Platinum Asset Management co-founder Kerr Neilson. After years in storage, the works have finally taken their place inside the White Rabbit Gallery, one of numerous privately funded public museums soon to open in Australia. With free admission and no commercial sales, they exist to exhibit the wealth of private collections.

White Rabbit
30 Balfour St
Chippendale NSW 2008
Australia

http://www.whiterabbitcollection.org/

10 August, 2009

AAAARG - art theory

AAAARG is a conversation platform - at different times it performs as a school, or a reading group, or a journal.

AAAARG was created with the intention of developing critical discourse outside of an institutional framework. But rather than thinking of it like a new building, imagine scaffolding that attaches onto existing buildings and creates new architectures between them.

RSS/XML. http://aaaarg.org/feed

===========
a good resource for full texts of critical theory by numerous authors

http://a.aaaarg.org/

Helpdesk humour





http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQHX-SjgQvQ

09 August, 2009

Fiona Tan



website
http://www.fionatan.nl/


images
http://www.fionatanvenice.nl/pub/26/images/

==============

at vernissage tv: For some reason I can't get the embed codes to work. Go directly to VTV's blog entry to see the videos here
on blog


Amsterdam-based film and video artist Fiona Tan represents the Netherlands at the 53rd International Art Exhibition of La Biennale di Venezia. Fiona Tan was born in Indonesia and grew up in Australia. In 1988 she moved to the Netherlands to pursue studies at the Rietveld Academie and the Rijksakademie. Her work has been exhibited widely in numerous international exhibitions and institutions including Documenta 11 (Kassel), Yokohama Triennale (Japan), and the New Museum (New York). Fiona Tan lives and works in Amsterdam, where she teaches at De Ateliers.

In Venice, she presents three video installations: Disorient (2009), a new video installation that draws on the city’s medieval influence before the discovery of new routes to Asia diminished its power; Provenance (2008), a research on 17th-century, “Golden Age” portrait paintings; and Rise and Fall (2009), a video installation that focuses on images of water — turbulent, churning as well as slow-moving and placid — as a metaphor for how memory is formed. Excerpts of the videos are available on the Dutch Pavilion website.

Fiona Tan: Disorient. Dutch Pavilion, 53rd International Art Exhibition La Biennale di Venezia 2009.

05 August, 2009

Sydney Galleries

Sydney Galleries:
Andrew Crawford -http://www.andrewcrawford.com.au/Home.html
Agathon Galleries - http://www.agathon.com.au/
Artereal Gallery - http://www.artereal.com.au
Annandale Galleries - http://www.annandalegalleries.com.au/
At The Vanishing Point - http://www.atthevanishingpoint.com.au
Ann Snell Gallery - http://www.annsnellgallery.com.au/
Artspace - http://www.artspace.org.au/
Art Equity - http://www.artequity.com.au/
Art House Gallery - http://www.arthousegallery.com.au/artists.asp
Australian Galleries Pty Ltd - http://www.australiangalleries.com.au/
Australian Galleries Works on Paper - http://www.australiangalleries.com.au/
Barry Stern Galleries Pty Ltd - 19 Glenmore Rd, Paddington, NSW, 2021, Australia
Blank space - http://www.blankspace.com.au/
Black Town arts Centre -http://www.artscentre.blacktown.nsw.gov.au/
Black&Blue Gallery - Level 3, 267-271 Cleveland St Redfern
Billich Gallery - http://www.billich.com.au/
Brian Moore Gallery Pty Ltd -
Brett Whiteley Studio - http://www.brettwhiteley.org/
Brenda May Gallery - http://www.2danksstreet.com.au/brenda.may.gallery/index.html
Boutwell Draper Gallery - http://www.boutwelldrapergallery.com.au/
CarriageWorks Arts Centre - http://www.carriageworks.com.au/
Callan Park Gallery -
http://www.usyd.edu.au/sca/research/partnerships/stoarcgallery.shtml
China Heights - http://www.chinaheights.com/
Chalk Horse Gallery - http://www.chalkhorse.com.au/
Christopher Day Gallery - http://www.cdaygallery.com.au/
Charles Hewitt Gallery - http://www.charleshewitt.com.au/
CWM Galleries - http://www.cwmgalleries.biz/
Damien Minton Gallery - http://damienmintongallery.com.au/
Darren Knight Gallery - http://www.darrenknightgallery.com/
Dennis Baker Galleries - http://www.bakergalleries.com.au/
Dickerson Gallery - http://www.dickersongallery.com.au/
Du Moulin Gallery & Fine Frames
Defiance Gallery - http://www.defiancegallery.com/
Depot Gallery -
Eva Breuer Art Dealer - http://www.evabreuerartdealer.com.au/
First Draft Gallery - http://www.firstdraftgallery.com/
Flinders Street Gallery - http://www.flindersstreetgallery.com/
Frances Keevil Gallery - http://www.franceskeevilart.com.au
Gallery 9 - http://www.gallery9.com.au/
Gallery 4a - http://www.4a.com.au
Galleries Direct -
galleryeight - 8, Argyle Place, Millers Point
Gaffa - http://www.gaffa.com.au/
Gould Galleries - http://www.gouldgalleries.com/
Global Gallery -
Grantpirrie - http://www.grantpirrie.com/
Harrington Street Artists Co-op Gallery -
Harris Courtin Gallery - http://www.harriscourtingallery.com.au/
Hazelhurst Regional Gallery & Arts Centre - http://www.hazelhurst.com.au/
Hardware Gallery - http://www.hardwaregallery.com.au
Ivan dougherty gallery - http://www.cofa.unsw.edu.au/galleries/idg/
Iain Dawson Gallery - http://www.iaindawson.com/
James Dorahy Project Space - http://www.jamesdorahy.com.au/
Kaliman Gallery - http://www.kalimangallery.com/
Ken Done Gallery The - http://kendone.com/
Ken Duncan Gallery - http://www.kenduncan.com/
Kerrie Lowe Gallery
King Street Gallery - http://www.kingstreetgallery.com.au/
Kudos Gallery - http://www.cofa.unsw.edu.au/galleries/kudos/about.html
Legge Gallery - http://www.leggegallery.com/
Lavender Bay Gallery
Libby Edwards Galleries - http://www.libbyedwardsgalleries.com/
Liverpool Street Gallery - http://www.liverpoolstgallery.com.au/
ma gallery - http://www.putmeonthewallma.com/
Manly Art Gallery & Museum - http://www.manlyaustralia.com.au/ManlyArtGallery/
Michael Carr Art Dealer - http://www.michaelcarr.net/
Mary Place Gallery - http://www.maryplacegallery.com.au/
Medium Rare Gallery - http://www.mediumrare.net.au/
Martin Browne Gallery - http://www.martinbrownefineart.com/
Michael Reid Gallery - http://www.michaelreid.com.au/current
Mori Gallery - http://www.morigallery.com.au/
Mosman Art Gallery - http://www.mosman.nsw.gov.au/mosman/culture/art-gallery
Monster children Gallery - http://www.monsterchildren.com/gallery/
MOP - http://www.mop.org.au/current.html
National Art School Gallery - http://www.nas.edu.au/NAS_Gallery.htm
Newington Armory - http://www.sydneyolympicpark.com.au/Visiting/venues_and_parks/newington_armory/gallery
N G Art Gallery - http://www.ngart.com.au/
Newport Artworks Gallery - http://www.newportartworks.com/
Old Bakery Gallery Pty Ltd
Oh Really Gallery - 55 Enmore road, Newtown
Oxley9 Roslyn Gallery - http://www.roslynoxley9.com.au/
Promenarts Gallery - http://www.promenarts.com/
Punch Gallery - http://www.punchgallery.com.au
Ray Hughes Gallery - http://www.rayhughesgallery.com/
Robin Gibson Galleries - http://www.robingibson.net/
Richard Martin Gallery - http://www.richardmartinart.com.au/
Rex Irwin Art Dealer - http://www.rexirwin.com/
S. H. Ervin Gallery - http://www.nsw.nationaltrust.org.au/
SCA Galleries - http://www.usyd.edu.au/sca/galleries/program/index.shtml
Stella Downer Fine Art - http://www.stelladownerfineart.com.au
Sarah Cottier Gallery - http://www.sarahcottiergallery.com/
Savill Galleries - http://www.savill.com.au/
Sherman Galleries - http://www.shermangalleries.com.au/
SOHO Galleries Sydney - http://www.sohogalleries.net/
Stills Gallery - http://www.stillsgallery.com.au/
Sullivan Strumpf Fine Art - http://www.ssfa.com.au/
T A P Gallery - http://www.tapgallery.org.au/
Tin Sheds Gallery & Art Workshops - http://www.arch.usyd.edu.au/art_workshop
Tim Olsen Gallery - http://www.timolsengallery.com/
Trevor Victor Harvey - http://www.tvhgallery.com.au/
United Galleries - http://unitedgalleries.com.au/
Watters Gallery - http://www.wattersgallery.com/
Wagner - http://www.wagnerartgallery.com.au/
Wash house gallery - http://www.washhousegallery.com.au
Wilson Street Gallery - http://www.wilsonstreetgallery.com.au/


Sydney Design 09

Welcome to Sydney Design 09, international design festival and now a celebrated Sydney institution in its 13th year. Join us in celebrating local and international design with a diverse program running over 16 days from 1 to 16 August 2009.

This year the festival is bigger than it’s ever been, with a vibrant cocktail of events, exhibitions, speakers, tours, markets and workshops designed to engage and inspire audiences.

Highlights at the festival’s main precinct, the Powerhouse Museum, include Eat Green Design, Young Blood: Designers Market, Australian International Design Awards exhibition, late night event Play Late, and the Design Underground tours.

Sydney Design 09 extends all over the city too, with more than 70 events and 35 venues around Sydney.

download the pdf program

http://www.sydneydesign.com.au/sd09/

03 August, 2009

Will Coles






http://www.willcoles.com/default.html


media
http://www.willcoles.com/media.html

call - Artists Books QLD

5th Australian Artists' Book Forum
Artspace Mackay is calling for abstracts from potential speakers for the 5th Australian Artists' Book Forum and workshop proposals from artists for associated events.

For important dates and more information on the forum and the associated Libris Awards for 2010 as it comes to hand, visit www.artspacemackay.com.au.


========
5th Australian Artists' Book Forum
Artspace Mackay, Saturday 10 & Sunday 11 April 2010

The 5th Australian Artists' Books Forum, to be held at Artspace Mackay on Saturday 10 & Sunday 11 April 2010, will again bring together artists, curators, writers, academics, students and collectors to discuss artists' books and book arts in Australia. The two-day forum builds on the success of previous conferences held at Artspace Mackay and again expects to attract speakers and delegates from across the country. Part of a larger, overall program for the gallery, the 5th Australian Artists' Book Forum will be complimented by workshops and masterclasses; the announcement of the 2010 Libris Awards: Australian Artists' Book Prize winners and exhibition of the finalists' works; an exhibition by 2008 Libris Award winner Deanna Hitti and displays drawn from the Mackay Regional Council's significant collection of artists' books.

2010 Libris Awards
The Libris Awards: Australian Artists' Book Prize has now opened for 2010 entries. Closing date for pre-selection is 4 December 2009, with finalists' works exhibited from 9 April - 23 May 2010, as part of the biennial Focus on Artists Books Program at Artspace Mackay. Winners announced at the exhibition opening on Friday 9 April 2010. Entry forms will be available to download here at our website very shortly, or contact: artspace@mackay.qld.gov.au

Subject Index - July 2009

The Aviary
Editorial - New Premises
Editorial
Subject Index - June 2009


Artists/Exhibitions
Franck Gohier
Museum of Football - Berlin

Graffiti
NĂ© dans la rue – Graffiti Paris

Film

Open Air - Graffiti Documentary

The Dish - Moon Landing Film

Theory
Art & Austerity - ArtReview

Auctions
GRAFFITI - Auction Paris
Naval & Military Club Collection

Copyright/Appropriation
Cartrain and Hirst

Australia
Beyond Capricorn
George Collingridge
Perth Museum Cutbacks

Comedy/Parody
The Ashes